What would you tell someone else?

free advice
Photo
by ohad*, cc

Recently I had a very frustrating experience. I was really annoyed with someone and it honestly wasn’t their fault. It was a me issue, and it was based in a lot of insecurities that I have that have nothing to do with them or anything they did that was “wrong.” And the worst part was that I let it ruin my day, and I knew that I was being unreasonable. And so there was this very horrible cycle where I got annoyed, and then I got annoyed that I was annoyed. And it never stops.

Luckily, I have some friends that know a little bit about my issues and talked me out of the cycle. Of course, they couldn’t get me completely out, because I’m difficult. But they did a good job.

And this made me think of (and practice) and emotional hack.

Pretend this is someone else’s problem.

This is similar to my post about editing your own work as if it’s made by someone else.

If someone else, a friend, came to you and said all of this, what would you tell them? What advice would you give?

I would tell them that they’re wasting energy. I would tell them that they’re awesome and stop hating on yourself for having an emotion. I would tell them that anytime they found themselves thinking about this thing that they should actively think about something else that makes them happy, or repeat a scripture, or pray.

It didn’t fix it. But it helped.

What would you tell someone else?

Leave a Reply

