30 things: choreograph a new work

30 things before 30

As you may know, I’ve made a list of 30 things that I want to do before I’m 30. Some are silly, some are hard, some are super easy, but no matter, they make for great fodder for the blog and for life!

Number 23 on my list is choreograph a new work.

I have been choreographing since I was 10 or 11. There is a GREAT version of Jellicle Cats that premiered in my parent’s basement in 1998.

I made my first major dance in high school (a neo-classical ballet to Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue because there is NO BETTER PIECE OF AMERICAN MUSIC EVER!), and then continued to go nuts in college as a dance major and major movement nerd.

And then I traveled for 3 years and made nothing.

But now I’m dancing in 2 different local companies, teaching for 2 different studio/programs, substitute teaching, and hoping that I can somehow add an inch to my hamstrings so that I can keep doing this without embarrassing myself.

I digress.

So I needed to make something new. And ideally, I will make lots of new things, but for now, I’m just glad I made something.

I have no proof. I don’t have photos. I don’t have videos. But it was a nice 3 minute dance that my students performed at a professional benefit concert.

IT HAPPENED ok!? I wasn’t thinking about the blog when it happened and how if you don’t have a photo it didn’t happen.

But anyway, just take my word for it. Number 23. Check.

2 thoughts on “30 things: choreograph a new work

    • Yay! Really I’m just annoyed with myself that I didn’t think to record their dress rehearsal or even take a photo! Really? I have a blog, things need to be documented!

Leave a Reply

