30 Things: Get Rid of Clothes from High School

30 things before 30
As you may know,
I’ve made a list of 30 things that I want to do before I’m 30. Some are silly, some are hard, some are super easy, but no matter, they make for great fodder for the blog and for life!

Number 6 on my list is get rid of any clothing that I have that I bought while I was in high school.

I should say that, while I’m so happy I did this, I’m worried I didn’t do it right? Certain things are hard to remember if I bought it in high school or college. And I’m pretty sure there’s at least one dancewear item that I’ve had since high school that I can’t part with.
That being said, I definitely got most of it out, along with many clothing items that have gone unworn for years and it feels SO GOOD! And I think I will continue to cull my closet over the next year until I’m left with pieces that I truly love. 

Right now it’s hard because I worry about the what ifs, (What if I go to a garden party, this dress will be perfect! What if I decide to dress up in 70s garb for Halloween? These ridiculous white bell bottoms will be so groovy!)  but the more I get rid of, the better I feel. Plus, I’ve been having a lot of trouble getting dressed for work lately. And I think it’s partly because I need some new, very specific items (some to replace worn out items, some because my style is changing now that I’m no longer cruising and no longer in my early 20s) but mostly because I have too many choices.  

I have so many choices that I might embark on a 30×30 challenge like Kendi used to do. But that’s for another post.

The point is, I want to love my clothing choices, all of them, and hanging on to stuff “just in case” really doesn’t work. Stuff does not make me happy. And my new rule is one thing in, one thing out.

Do you still own clothes that you bought while in high school?

Leave a Reply

