Why didn’t anyone tell me about… Harry Potter?

Why didn't anyone tell me about
This is a new semi-regular series where we discuss things that I was “late to the party on” but now I have firmly cemented myself in the bandwagon of these cultural landmarks. 

Today I ask you friends, why did no one tell me about…

…Harry Potter.

I mean, it’s like we’re not even friends.

Ok, to be fair, I can’t put that on any of my friends, real life or internet. Because my mom and brother read them and encouraged me to, and I had friends that were obsessed and dressed up to go to the movies. But I always just said “I never read them.”

10 years later I’m spending all my free time last summer reading the entire series in a month. And then I read them again and watched the movies after I finished each one a second time. And I’m planning to just continue reading them for the rest of my life. I can’t explain it, it’s just something about those books… I’m convinced an owl will stop by this summer and give me a Hogwarts invitation and on September 1st I’ll be on the Hogwarts Express.

While I do feel like I missed out on a lot of great things by being such and HP latecomer (like mostly a lot of awesome theme parties) the one benefit is that I could read them all in succession without having to wait for their release year after year. I remember finishing Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince and being annoyed that I had not already downloaded the Deathly Hallows and that I didn’t have any internet access and so I would have to wait a WHOLE day to read Deathly Hallows. And then I felt lame because some of you waited like a year. 

But no worries guys. I may be a latecomer, but I’m all about it now. And what’s more, there’s a whole slew of cultural references that have a lot more meaning for me now (like horcruxes, expecto patronum, and that quidditch match in The Internship).

Have you always been on the Harry Potter bandwagon? Or were you a latecomer like me?

One thought on “Why didn’t anyone tell me about… Harry Potter?

Leave a Reply

