4 Podcasts for Creatives

podcasts for creatives
In the last 6 months I’ve become obsessed with podcasts! They are the best because they are passive! Meaning I can do something else while I consume them. I can drive, walk the dog, clean the house, do laundry, exercise (ha!), whatever. I listen to a variety of podcasts, but I thought I’d highlight some of my favorites in the “creative” category. And I believe everyone is creative, so I think anyone could benefit from or enjoy listening to these.

These are by no means all of the creative podcasts out there. Just the ones I listen to since, you know, my blog, my rules.

Note: A few of these podcasts are not family friendly. Language is used and off color jokes are made. I don’t personally like that part of them, but there is so much more in them that I do find valuable. Just be forewarned.

You Made It Weird with Pete Holmes
Admittedly, I’ve only listened to this a couple of times, most notably when Pete interviewed Rob Bell (a good one whether you take issues with Rob’s “theology” or not), but it was awesome. He mostly talks to comedians and people in the entertainment industry (actors and musicians) but that just chat and talk about life, their process, their philosophy, or whatever. This is really fun to listen to because you almost get inside their head, their thought process. It is a bit of a commitment, most episodes are at least two hours, so I usually listen when I have a lot of cleaning or organizing to do. Way better than getting distracted by an America’s Next Top Model marathon.

Nerdist
This is one of my favorites. The Nerdist podcasts interviews some of my favorite comedians and actors: Anna Kendrick, Jimmy Fallon, Tina Fey, Tom Hanks, the list goes on. Again, it’s a long one, usually somewhere between 60 and 90 minutes. But it’s awesome to hear Kathryn Hahn obsess over the best gumbo at Disneyland (That’s a thing apparently), and then talk about how slow her career was at first. It’s amazing to hear Aziz Ansari say “don’t worry about Twitter, just do your work!” Ok fine, Aziz, I’ll totally do it.

After the Jump
A weekly half hour podcast by Grace Bonney, the blogger who built the empire that is Design Sponge (never heard of them? Do you use Pinterest? Then I guarantee you have pinned one of their images). She talks about design trends, but she also talks about strategies she’s used to create Design Sponge and maintain her business and incredible web presence.

Making It
This one is another lady-hosted podcast. Riki Lindhome interviews people who’ve “made it” and talks about how exactly they did that. It’s about an hour of hearing about how they got where they are now, and the guests are super fun. Spoiler Alert: they made it by working hard, being nice to people, and persevering. But still you should listen, because we all need that lesson banged into our heads a few times!

What are your favorite podcasts?

Leave a Reply

