I really don’t need you to be “real” online

being real online
There’s a lot of talk about “online honesty” and being “real” on the internet. And I get it. It’s a little frustrating to look at “just another newlywed/mommy/college student/business blog” and see a perfectly designed home and no laundry baskets, the perfect homemade meal and no dishes in the sink, the perfect date and no photos of that awkward stupid fight with the husband, the perfect deal with no mention of the many rejections and failures before the finished contract, and the perfect outfit with no sign of holes that show that they’ve been wearing the same t-shirt since freshman year of college.

I get it, at times Pinterest depresses me just as much as the next girl.

But can I be honest with you? I’m ok with you not being completely “real” online. I really am.

Sure I could do without those internet personalities that seem completely perfect, without flaw. You know, you’re friend that can’t post a photo without pushing it through a million actions on Photoshop. But I don’t need (or want) to see your dirty house, your kids’ dirty diapers, or you and your spouse having a Facebook argument. And I especially don’t want to see those things posted in the name of “being real.”

Here’s the deal- the internet is new and different, but it’s not based on brand new concepts. Everything is still ads, information sharing, humblebragging, and people telling their stories.  We’ve always done that stuff.  The only difference is this: now it’s accessible to pretty much anyone once it’s out there.

So do you really want to be so “real” that you’re sharing all your relationship struggles, your parenting “fails,” and you airing your actual dirty laundry?

Because if I’m being honest, I sure don’t want to read about that.

I totally get the value of being honest, and I do appreciate when bloggers post about their struggles or when my friends post a funny kid story that doesn’t exactly make them look like parent of the year. And I don’t want people to pretend and act like everything’s ok when it’s not. But if you’re feeling guilty about not being “real” enough online- DON’T. Just don’t.

It’s your choice, share what makes you happy. And if it doesn’t make you happy- then it probably doesn’t belong online.

And if you’re sharing everything with me, from your child’s bowel movements to the fight you had with your spouse; from your rough morning to the dead rat your dog left on your doorstop… you don’t have to do that. You can be real without all the details, and you won’t hurt anyone’s feelings, I promise!

What do you think about being “real” online?

Leave a Reply

