30 Things: Record a new outgoing voicemail message

30 things
As you may know, I’ve made a list of 30 things that I want to do before I’m 30. Some are silly, some are hard, some are super easy, but no matter, they make for great fodder for the blog and for life!

Number 20 on the list is record a new outgoing voicemail message.

Admittedly, this is a lame one. I mainly put it on there because 1) it needs to get done, and 2) not every 30 thing can be amazing or I won’t finish them all. Nothing wrong with some throw aways to keep up a goal momentum.

I had not changed my outgoing message since college, I think. My name has changed, my voice has change, so my outgoing message needed to change. Here are my tips:

1) change your message every no more than once a year, no less than once every 5 years. Exceptions: got a new business or new name? Change it.

2) Smile while you record your message.

3) Write out your message before you record it. You’re just saving yourself some time and some unnecessary “umms.”

And that’s it, friends.

When was the last time you changed your outgoing voicemail greeting?

Leave a Reply

