The Power of the Ask

ask question mark
yayimages

In January I started listening to the podcast Entrepreneur on Fire by John Lee Dumas.  Since I started I’ve listened almost daily to his interviews with inspiring entrepreneurs, from people who have created huge corporations to your small business bootstrappers, I’ve learned so much, and it’s also just fun to listen to people chat about success, failure, productivity, and big (and little!) ideas.

Recently I listened to an episode that featured a trio of friends who started a New Hampshire brewery. Every episode John asks the guest(s) to provide a success quote or mantra. Theirs was “only one freak out at a time.”

Whoa.  I’m suppressing the urge to write an entire blog post on that quote. But it’s coming.

Anyway, that idea, “one freak out at a time.” Really stuck with me, and so I tweeted about it and referenced John in the tweet, as you do. John replied to my tweet, and asked me to review his podcast on either iTunes or Stitcher.

For some reason this shocked me. His podcast has thousands of listeners, and I’m a new one with little influence. EOFire made iTunes best of 2013 podcast list. He recently made six figures in one month through his podcast and its outposts.

My thought was, “he is successful enough- he doesn’t need a review from little old me.”

But then I was intrigued that he asked for it.

I think most people fall into 2 camps: askers and non askers.

This is another post entirely, and that too will come at a later date.

I’m a non-asker, and I have lots of good reasons for that (One is that while people can call me a lot of things I don’t think annoying or “oversteps boundaries” would ever be one of them), but I’m learning (from people like John) that my reasons aren’t that great. An ask is powerful.

Because here’s the thing- even though I’m a non-asker, I will, 9 times out of 10, do what someone asks me to do. And I think most people, given a reasonable request, would do the same.

I can’t complain about not getting opportunities if I never ask for them.

John’s platform is big, and huge, and uber successful. But he still asks for stuff, and I’m betting his success hinges on those “asks”

I gave him his review (a positive and honest one), and I’m still listening.

Here’s to asking for more.

Leave a Reply

