Dealing with bacon grease

bacon grease
yayimages

In the category of “things you probably already know,” let me tell you some things about bacon grease.

I fry up bacon once a week usually for various recipes and sandwiches. And in case you didn’t know, you don’t want to pour your bacon grease down the drain.  I’m not sure of the specifics, but I know it’s not a good idea.

So for awhile I was doing what my grandmother used to do- take the pan outside and throw the grease into the yard. Or sometimes I would put it in a cup and put it in the fridge until it solidified and I could scoop it out in the trash (this is gross by the way).

And then I started doing this really simple, really obvious thing.

Step One, grab some aluminum foil

Step Two, mold it into a bowl (or line the inside of a bowl or cup with the foil)

Step 3, pour the grease in. Wait for it to solidify, or put it in the fridge if you want to speed up that process.
WP_20131213_00520140129112655[1]

Step 4, once it’s solidified, ball up the foil and throw it out!

Super easy!

What do you think? Do you do this with your bacon grease?

One thought on “Dealing with bacon grease

  1. Pingback: Don’t ignore your “little ideas” | sometimes she blogs

Leave a Reply

