I label my technology

I bought a Microsoft Surface just a few days after it came out, and I’ve never looked back.  I love it, and while I do still have to use a laptop sometimes, the majority of the time I go to my Surface.

Not many of my friends have a Surface, so they often want to take a look at it.  As soon as they pick it up and turn it over they laugh at me.  Because the back of my Surface has this label on it.
WP_20140129_00420140129115659

Let me explain.

When I bought the Surface, I was working at the launch event for Windows 8 in Times Square, and we had lots of Surfaces that were being used for the event.  I walked into our offices with my new Surface because I was using it for some work I had to do that day, and I immediately got stopped by someone asking why I had taken one of the Surfaces, so I quickly showed that it was mine, and not theirs, which were labeled with “Surface” and a number. 

I then went to our office space and used a labelmaker to label my Surface so that there would be no further confusion.  And I’ve never taken off because I honestly do need an identifier because on the ship I have other Surfaces as well.

So whatever I get made fun of. A lot. And the most recent person who laughed at my descriptive label accepted my reasoning, but then pointed out “why not just label it ‘Langford’?”

I really need to peel that label off…

Leave a Reply

