Love Actually and 9 other Iconic Christmas Movies I haven’t seen (a Christmas Confession)

This scene means nothing to me. Not because I have a heart of stone, but because I’ve never seen Love Actually.

I know you guys, I KNOW!

And to shock you some more, here are 9 more iconic Christmas movies that I’ve never seen and how bad I feel about it on a scale of “who cares pass the eggnog” to “Ghost of Christmas Future please tell me how not to be such a Scrooge!” Or actually a scale of 1-10 because that’s way easier

9) Die Hard
Because it sounds awful. Who wants to Die Hard? And if you’re wondering why it’s on the list, think back. The entire first movie, the main character is trying to get home for Christmas. And I only know that because I do research for my blog posts (yes, I’m that committed). Anyway, I guess instead of getting home he has to die hard or something.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: -1, and please get me another glass of eggnog.

8) Holiday Inn
Because I’ve never heard of it, but apparently it’s a thing since an entire hotel chain was named after it (yes, that’s true says the internet) . Oh and Fred Astaire is in it which means there’s dancing so now I really am wondering why I haven’t seen it.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: 1, but I’ll buy Fred an extra Christmas present this year

7) Christmas Vacation
I have actually seen this one, but it’s been a long time and I can’t quote it so to my husband it doesn’t count.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie:1, but I’ll watch it this year

6) The original Miracle on 34th Street
Because I’ve seen the one with the little girl from Mrs. Doubtfire and that seemed good enough.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: 4, but I believe in Santa!

5) Bad Santa
Really? Do I have to explain this one?
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: -5, and I’ll have another glass of eggnog kthanks.

4) The original A Christmas Carol
I’m pretty sure the Muppets one is better.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: 3, and fine, take a present out of my stocking whydontcha

3) Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas
I’m pretty sure the half hour cartoon one is better. PS, Jim Carrey seems like a good choice but is weirdly creepy in a non-Grinch way.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: 3, if it offends you that much I’ll wrap all your presents for you, but I’ve warned you I’m not good at it.

2) White Christmas
I have no excuse for this one. I truly believe I’m a terrible person.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: 8, and why yes, I will address all your Christmas cards for you. Also, yes I will take some coal for my stocking because I know I deserve it.

1) It’s a Wonderful Life
In my defense (if I’m allowed to have one, and I’m not), I get all the cultural references to this movie, and come on, I’m supposed to watch a suicide movie at Christmas??? But yes, please feel free to berate me, I know this is a gap in my cultural experience.
How bad I feel about not seeing this iconic Christmas movie: 10, please ghost of Christmas Future, show me the errors of my ways!

Anybody else NOT seen some of these?

3 thoughts on “Love Actually and 9 other Iconic Christmas Movies I haven’t seen (a Christmas Confession)

  1. I think the original Miracle on 34th Street is way better than the remake. And yes, the Muppet Christmas Carol is hard to beat, but the Patrick Stewart or George C. Scott versions are pretty awesome, too.

  2. Pingback: Mean Girls and 9 other non-Christmas movies to watch at Christmas | sometimes she blogs

Leave a Reply

