30 Things before I’m 30 – buy a home

IMG_8158
As you may know, I’ve made a list of 30 things that I want to do before I’m 30. Some are silly, some are hard, some are super easy, but no matter, they make for great fodder for the blog and for life!

I put “buy a home” on this list, and I kind of cheated, because by the time I wrote and published the list, the house was already bought.  We started thinking about buying homes a little over a year ago.  It was the right time for a lot of reasons: We didn’t know how much longer we wanted to work on ships, if we were going to continue on ships for a year or 2 more we were ready to have our own space for our vacations (we had essentially been living with friends and family in guest rooms during our 2 month vacations, which was great, but we were starting to wear out our welcome and we were ready for our own space), we were debt free (of course we’re not any more) and we had a considerable sum in our savings account for our down payment.

I don’t want to get into financial details, but if you’re wondering how we felt ready I’ll say this:  We had enough in our savings account that we could put down a 20-25% down payment on a house in our price range and still have about half of our savings left over for an emergency/furniture/new homeowner fund.  We were ONLY able to do that because we saved lots of money from living 3 years with little to no living expenses, we have very generous parents that have helped us out financially in various ways over the years, we sold a car and lived with one car for 2 years, and I had a small “inheritance” that I’d received when I was young that I finally cashed out and put into savings to start our house down payment fund.

I’m proud of how we managed this purchase, that being said we both still felt sick when we talked out our loan and closing costs with our mortgage lender.  Gah!  But we are fine and it was all worth it.

So we looked at a couple of places last year, then we went out on a 4 month Caribbean contract, and when we got back to Texas we jumped into looking again.  We found our new house and I fell in love right away, although I did have my reservations: it’s fairly small, which I love because I don’t want a lot of extra house to care for (especially after living in a 10X10 room for 3 years!) but there’s not a ton of storage space, there’s a GREAT, HUGE backyard that we love but we have no experience with yard care, there are BEAUTIFUL trees, but what about tornadoes?, and there’s this super cool looking shed that is neat but really needs to come down and be replaced by a garage because oh yeah there’s no garage.

But we learned that the house was built in the 50s but completely remodeled new (our inspector told us that it was like inspecting a new build), we realized how many of those new features (energy efficient windows, stainless steel appliances, spa shower, deck, completely new plumbing and electric) were important to us and good investments, and we realized that the area was actually pretty cool.  So we did it.

Well Jacob did.  I was on the ship for my second day of work when he went to the closing and signed all the papers, twice since I wasn’t there and he had my power of attorney.  Apparently that was a lot of fun.

So we’ve had the house for 6 months, but I’ve really only lived in it for one, which is why I’m just now getting to blogging about it.

We love our new home, and I’m sure I’ll blog more about it as we get it set up.  I’m excited to actually use my home Pinterest boards instead of just daydreaming about when my home would be more than guest rooms and storage units and ship cabins!

Click below to see photos of our (empty) home.

Leave a Reply

