Try a Little Harder: Thank You Notes

WP_20130829_00120130829111807[1]
Today’s try a little harder post (remember- sometimes trying just a little harder, can make a big difference) is one that I’m writing not from a “I do it and you should too” perspective, but instead this post is more like “Oh my goodness, how am I not already doing this, it’s not that hard and the fact that I don’t do it makes me a horrible person…”

Yeah, I don’t write thank you notes.  I mean, I wrote them for all my graduation presents and wedding gifts, but I don’t write them for every gift. 

My friend Bridesmaid H is a thank you note rock star.  We exchange birthday and Christmas gifts, and every time I give her a gift I get a card about a week later. She even made me look really good to my mother-in-law back before I was married.  We were both staying at my future-in-laws’ house one weekend and before we left she said “Here, sign this thank you note for the Langfords.” I’m being completely honest when I say that doing this had never even occurred to me in this particular situation. I know my future mom-in-law was impressed, but I don’t think I’ve ever given her one since, save a thank you for a bridal shower gift.  Any time I get a thank you note from H I think, “you are one of my best friends, and I never write you one, you don’t have to do this!  Also, you’re in medical school so when are you finding the time writing thank you notes???”  

But the truth is, thank you notes aren’t that hard.  Many of us (me) don’t want to do it because we had to write so many at once after graduations or weddings that our hand still cramps at the sight of a notecard, but writing a few a year when you receive gifts or acts of kindness only requires that we try a little harder.

So that’s what I’m going to do.  From here on out, if I get a gift or a job contact, an interview or a gig, I’m going to send a thank you note.  Within 2 weeks.  I’m not going to obsess over making it perfect, I’m just going to use some variation “Hey there, Thanks so much for giving/doing/offering that thing.  It was so delightful/helpful/useful, and I’m so grateful. Best/Yours/Thanks again, kj” 

See, that’s not so hard is it?

Do you write thank you notes? 

PS- this post is written as a challenge to myself, I’m not suggesting that any of my friends need to start (or stop) writing thank you notes to me.  It’s just one of those things that I’ve always pretended is really hard… but it’s not, so I’m going to start doing it.

One thought on “Try a Little Harder: Thank You Notes

  1. Hey there! I’ve been following your website for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

Leave a Reply

