Try a little harder: Fancy Nails

Disclaimer: I just use this product and like it, Sally Hansen does not know who I am ya’ll.  But I’m sure she’s very very nice.
nails 5
I’m showing you the French side of the packaging because I’m fancy… not really, the other side didn’t look as pretty, so there you have it…

As I mentioned in a previous post, I really don’t like to get manicures.  I try to just keep my nails short and clean, and move on with my life.  BUT sometimes nail polish seems appropriate, mainly when I’m going to weddings or have a job interview or any event that will include an important first impression.  My problem is that I cannot for the life of my paint my nails.  It is one of those things I just can’t do, and I don’t care to try harder.

But that’s why I love those Sally Hansen nail color strips.  They make a few different kinds now, but the kind I use just come in a box, usually between $7.50 and $10, and are called Sally Hanson Salon Effects.  I usually go with something standard, like a metallic, but fun designs like leopard print are good too.
nails 1
Lots of options for strips, you pick the one that works best for each nail in terms of sizeand shape.

The last time I wore them I had so many people ask me if they were hard to apply that I thought it would be worth a post.

To recap: I’m not willing to try a little harder and learn to paint my own nails, but I am willing to try a little harder and use these handy little decals. If you want to try fancy nail art, but don’t want to pay salon prices, or if you’re like me and you can’t paint your nails worth a flip, you should try it.  Seriously, if I can do it, you can.  I have THE WORST fine motor skills (um hello, I can’t handle nail polish) and I can do this.  So try it, I believe in you!

But to answer the question I always get, no it’s not hard, but it’s not easy. There isn’t any dry time, but I allot myself about an hour so that I can be careful about placing the strips perfectly.

I’m not going to write out a step by step tutorial (Because Sally actually does that really well with her instructions that come in the box) I’ll just give you a few other tips:

1) Don’t cut your nails too short ahead of time.  You do want them to be an appropriate length and decently shaped, but if you cut them down too much it will be difficult to get the excess strip away from your nail.  You can always cut them and file them off if they’re still too long after you apply the strips.
2) Read the instructions in the box. And follow them and use all their tools the way they tell you to.  You’ll be happy you did.
nails 2nails 3
3) When applying the strips, take your time. Start by placing the sticker at the base of your nail, then pull it fairly tight to the edge of your nail. Pull down so there’s a crease in the strip at the edge of your nail.  This makes it easier for you to remove the excess strip.  In the photos above you can see all the excess strip.  And then you can see (sort of) in the second photo how I’m pulling it down over the nail edge in preparation for pulling off the excess part of the strip.

nails 4
Here’s my finished product. It’s not perfect (what’s up with that hangnail???), but it does the job and looks like I put the effort in, which is usually enough for me!

What do you think of the Sally Hansen Salon Effects strips?  Would you try them?  Have you?

One thought on “Try a little harder: Fancy Nails

Leave a Reply

