5 songs I search for on the radio

I had a close friend in high school that drove me around a lot and listened to me talk incessantly. In other words, he was a pretty awesome friend. One day I was telling him about my obsession with that song by Train, “Drops of Jupiter.” It was something about how I hoped that one day I would be the girl in that song to some guy. Yes, I desperately wanted to have specks of planet scattered through my hair. Or something. Anyway, the more important part about this story is that at some point I stopped talking long enough to ask my friend, “So do you like that song?” And he said, “I mean, I like it, but probably not as much as you. I’m not constantly scanning the radio trying to find it,” and then he started started desperately turning the radio dial screaming “where is it, WHO IS PLAYING DROPS OF JUPITER???”

It was really funny.

Anyway, as ridiculous as that sounds , that is exactly what I do now, with 5 specific songs. I really do. I get in the car and I change the station until I find one of 5 songs, so I thought I’d share them with you. Oh, and no judgment on my musical preferences. If it bothers you that much and you start to lose respect for me then just pretend that these are my “guilty pleasure” songs.

For the record, they are not. I totally love these songs.

5) Call Me, Maybe – Carly Rae Jepsen

I know, I know. I should be totally over this song. But I’m not. Sorry. Not sorry, it’s catchy, makes very little sense in the most delightful way, and reminds me of all those inexplicably charming lip sync youtube videos.  Also it allows me to re-enact this video (I’ll never stop referencing that link.)

4) Some Nights – fun.

I don’t know what this song is about (war? Killing someone? Is it figurative or literal? What’s going on in the video? I need answers), but I like it. The a capella harmonious beginning, then the driving beat that makes me wish I was part of a religion that took part in ritualistic dancing, and the earnest sing-yelling (syelling? Yinging?) that just makes me want to care about something really important and maybe protest something. I don’t know about you, but I like to have a reason to belt my songs while I cruise down the highway at 70mph, and this song does it for me.

3) What Makes you Beautiful – One Direction

I know, I should be over my boy band phase by now, but to be fair I never really jumped on that bandwagon in the 90s (except for this on Hanson single that I bought, which obviously does not count) so I’m overdue for some good boy band loving. And come on, what a great song to obsess over, amiright? The infectious guitar riff, the adorable stuttering throughout “you don’t kno- o- oh!”, and come on can you resist acting out the line “the way that you flip your hair gets me overwhelmed” You cannot. Ok, I cannot. Don’t you love how they’re kind of aggressively yelling at this shy girl about how “YOU ARE TOO BEAUTIFUL SHUT UP!” It’s weirdly adorable and endearing. Also, totally awesome lip syncing videos to this song. Apparently lip syncability is important to me.

2) Home – Phillip Phillips
So I didn’t watch Mr. Phillips’ season of American Idol, I actually didn’t even realize he was singing when I first heard this song during the promos for the US Women’s Gymnastic team during the Olympics. From the moment I heard it I loved the earthiness, the meaningful lyrics that are basically telling you in a really polite way to chill out already, the guitar melodies, and of course the children’s choir that joins in. When I hear it I’m reminded of the simple and awesomely good things in life, like seeing old friends and holidays with your family and holding hand and walking in really clear crisp air, and of course very small teenagers doing back flips, but whatever.

1) We Are Never Getting Back Together – Taylor Swift

Because obviously.

What are your most favorite radio plays at the moment?

One thought on “5 songs I search for on the radio

  1. Well, I use Drops of Jupiter to teach simile and metaphor! And Ke$ha is my guiltly pleasure – so trashy, but I love her rhythms.

Leave a Reply

