30 Things: Quitting stuff

Here at sometimessheblogs, Wednesdays are for commenting on this list. So let’s get it started.

Number 18 on the list of things I should know before I’m 30:

How to quit a job, break up with a man, and confront a friend without ruining the friendship.

Ya’ll, this is definitely not something that I know.  Bummer.  Actually, not a bummer as this stuff is pretty lame. 

Ok, I’m just trying to comfort myself. To be truthful, I’ve only quit a job once.  Most of my jobs (prior to my current one) just ended because they were seasonal or freelance.  The one job that I have quit, I don’t know that I did it all that well, but I was also dealing with the flakiest boss of all time, so I don’t know that I could have done any better.  Is quitting a job something you only learn by doing?  Also, what more is there to know besides that whole giving notice thing and also knowing when you need to quit?  If that’s all there is to know, then I think I do.

I was never the sole initiator of any of my breakups, so I would say I’m pretty inexperienced on this one.  And as sadie sadie married lady I’m ok with that.

Confronting a friend?  I would rather personally remove all my finger and toe nails.  With shoddy pliers.  I will say this, if a friend confronts me, I’m better about listening and addressing what needs to be changed. A good friend of mine taught me that, and I’m better for it, because I realized that I was treating friends as disposable.  If something wasn’t working, I threw it out rather than try to repair it.  And now I know that’s stupid.

But as far as me initiating the discussion?  No way, Jose.  Not my style.  I know this is a fault, and I should probably change it, but all my friends are so awesome that I don’t need to?  Note to friends (and to self), keep being awesome so I don’t have to get better at this.

Are you good at quitting stuff?

One thought on “30 Things: Quitting stuff

  1. Pingback: 30 Things: To stay or to walk away | sometimes she blogs

Leave a Reply

