30 Things: Believe in You

Here at sometimessheblogs, Wednesdays are for commenting on this list. So let’s get it started.

Number 13 on the list of things I should have before I’m 30:

The belief that you deserve it.

Item 13 on the list is referencing item number 12 on the list, point being, that by the time you’re 30 you should believe that you deserve nice things.

I’ll buy it.  I get it, I do, treat yourself well. (or just Treat Yo Self… I will never tire of that reference…)  But I must admit, I had a hard time coming up with things that I would buy myself, so does that mean I don’t think I deserve it?

Well, maybe.  I think I just struggle with the word “deserve.”  I don’t really believe I deserve anything I have in this life, and that may sound cheesy and fake, but it’s true…. so to pick ridiculously expensive things because I “deserve it” is hard when I don’t really think I deserve anything like that.  I mean, what have I done to save the world today (I’ll give you a hint, not that much)?

Now don’t get me wrong, I’ll still spend money on myself, but I just don’t know that that’s a way to prove my worth, and that’s where I take issue with this item on the list.  But if a busy young mom takes this item to mean that she can once a month put herself first and get a manicure, or if someone decides to save up for months so that they can take a much needed vacation because they deserve it, then I get it, and I agree.

Do you believe you deserve it?

Leave a Reply

