30 Things: Old Age and money for it

Here at sometimessheblogs, Wednesdays are for commenting on this list. So let’s get it started.

Number 7 on the list of things I should have before I’m 30:

The realization that you are actually going to have an old age — and some money set aside to help fund it.

Ok, now this item on the list is so necessary and so true.  I have no qualms about this item.  We can’t pretend that old age isn’t going to come and dealing with some financial aspects of that is definitely a “by the time I’m 30” thing to do.

And yes, I do have the realization that I’ll have an old age.  I work on a cruise ship.  I see a LOT of old age, good and bad, capable and healthy, and struggling and degenerative.  It’s coming, and it’s silly to act like it’s not.  I’m not really into the whole living until I’m 100 thing (really wondering if our bodies are meant to withstand that many years, but that’s another post for a professional to write), but I would like to have a  pleasant time in my old age (probably going on cruise ships telling all the crewmembers that I used to work there…) so yeah, money would be nice.

When I first saw this item on the list I thought, “yeah, I’ve got some money set aside to fund that,” because a couple years ago The Guns and I did open up a Roth IRA.  But then it occurred to me that I should probably have my own… that we’re double income right now, and we’d probably like to be double income at that point.  And that even though I view us as one person, we definitely spend money like the two people we are.  You know, to eat everyday and stuff like that.

All of that to say, on the list of things to do before I’m 30 (and preferably before this time next year) is to open a second Roth for me.

What about you?  Are you working on funding your “old age?”

Leave a Reply

