30 Things: A Past (gasp!)

Here at sometimessheblogs, Wednesdays are for commenting on this list. So let’s get it started.

Number 6 on the list of things I should have before I’m 30:

A past juicy enough that you’re looking forward to retelling it in your old age.

At first glance I do not like this item on the list. It makes it seem like your “past” needs to include things like one night stands and drunken encounters with foreign men and maybe dancing on a bar as a short term career.  In case you haven’t caught on, I have none of those things in my past and I’m pretty ok with that.

But then I think of juicy as “interesting” and, yes, probably being related to romantic relationships, and while my relationship history isn’t that extensive, I’ve realized that I do have some pretty cool stories.

Like the guy I met in Argentina who gave me one of his favorite soccer jerseys as a going away present. And yes I wore it to school.

Like the guy who wrote me an actual letter of beautiful prose and also occasionally sent me poetry.

Like the guy who heard me say that I thought the whole leaving a cake on the girl’s doorstep (from Napoleon Dynamite) was really cute and sweet and so the next day I had a cake on my doorstep.

Like the guy who heard me say that I didn’t really like getting flowers that much because they just died, so he made me a rose made of metal parts.

And yes, those are all different guys.  So check this one off the list.  And yes, I know that all these stories consist of guys giving me things.  LET ME HAVE THIS ONE!

Is your past juicy enough?

Leave a Reply

