30 Things: stop wanting to be a kid

Here at sometimessheblogs, Wednesdays are for commenting on this list. So let’s get it started.

Number 5 on the list of things I should have before I’m 30:

A youth you’re content to move beyond.

Can we have a definition of youth?  Is this under 20? Does youth end with college graduation?  With marriage?  What is youth?  When is youth?  I’m just saying, let’s be clear here when we’re making arbitrary lists about necessary skills and possessions for 30 year olds. 

Whatever, I’m sure it’s written that way because it sounds poetic, which I can forgive because yes I’m guilty of writing like that too.

I’ll assume for my purposes that my “youth” ended with my wedding.  That is not entirely true since I spent half my first year of marriage at a theme park, but we’ll go with that anyway.  Maybe it even ended with my graduation from college.  Either way, while yes I had some pretty awesome times in college I also had close to zero financial independence, several times where I acted selfishly and hurt people important to me and a few run ins with…. well mean people.  I think I’ve learned to not be so selfish (though that is always in process I think) and to not surround myself with mean people, thus avoiding the previously mentioned run ins.  And I’m fairly financially independent now, and if you count my husband and I as a unit rather than 2 separate people (I do) then I’m completely financially independent. So yeah, college was great, but it’s ok that I’ve moved beyond those things.

Leaving high school meant leaving intense insecurity and leaving middle school meant the same thing but also leaving my awkward phase.  I won’t split hairs here, I had a REAL BIG awkward phase of huge glasses and unfortunate hair and being really skinny and having decent fashion sense but everyone else was shopping at Abercrombie and Fitch.  You know how I know that I had a REALLY unfortunate awkward phase?  Because when I made a scrapbook of my entire life when I was a junior in high school I had a whole spread on my awkward years, I did not deny it even as an insecure 17 year old.  Because my mom still has a few photos of me from my awkward years hanging in our home (WHY?) and when my husband saw them for the first time he laughed.  Because I LIVED THROUGH THIS AND I KNOW!

Anyway. Yeah, I’m content to leave all that behind.

Do you have a youth you’re content to leave behind?

One thought on “30 Things: stop wanting to be a kid

  1. Totally agree- I think it means not overly romanticizing or wishing that you were still in college, high school, early 20s,whatever phase it might be. To look back at te time with appreciation, hopefully with lots of good memories, but to not be stuck in that time. And to learn from the not so good memories and mistakes.

Leave a Reply

