30 Things: Look good everyday, for travel, and in rain.

Here at sometimessheblogs, Wednesdays are for commenting on this list. So let’s get it started.

Number 4 on the list of things I should have before I’m 30:

A purse, a suitcase, and an umbrella you’re not ashamed to be seen carrying.

Theme of this item on the list: just because you’re schlepping it around doesn’t mean it should look like it’s getting schlepped around.  Or “looking pulled together leads to feeling pulled together which is next to being pulled together.”

Or, come on you’re 30 you can afford a decent umbrella to replace that cheapo you got in the goody bag at that conference you went to in college.

Anyway.

Purse… yep got it, actually I have a few.  I started collecting bags and purses in high school, and went to college with an entire storage tub of purses.  I’ve never been one to go with the designer purses (maybe one day if there is one that I really really love and can justify the price with the high quality) or even a purse that’s over $30. Still I had 30-50 in my possession at one point. At the moment I’m actually on a purse shopping ban that started in December with the acquisition of the perfect black bag. I have enough to get me through all types of situations, and beyond, no need to add to that.  The only new purses I get are gifts, and I will occasionally allow myself to buy one as a souvenir from a new travel locale. 

When we go to the ship I take with me 2 faux leather purses, one black and one cream/beige.  Since I like to carry lots of items including my iPad and an extra scarf I like it to be fairly large, usually more of a hobo shape.  The colors are important- the black is obviously fairly versatile, but the cream does much better for the summer and for more casual looks.  Between the 2, I have a purse for every outfit.  The only other purses I bring are a cross body olive colored canvas bag (again big enough to fit the iPad, but the color is also important: olive is a great neutral in that it goes with almost everything) and a black clutch for formal nights.  Of all of those, the canvas one is really the only one that doesn’t meet this list item, because it’s definitely more casual, and there probably are times where I would be “ashamed” to be seen with that purse, but really it’s meant for travel and getting dirt and sand on it, and then being thrown in the wash.

In short: purse, check. Also: suitcase, check.

Since I went halfway across the country to college my graduation present from some of my family was a set of red Samonite luggage.  It’s awesome, but I don’t travel with it to the ship because it’s a bit to heavy… I need the weight to be from all my stuff, not from the bag itself.  But the whole set is very nice, good-looking and super functional.

What don’t I have?  An umbrella.  It’s true.  Most of my umbrellas are tiny for ease of travel, but also cheap for ease of finances, and thus they usually look pretty ratty and break down really quickly. So now I have 4 years to find a great umbrella that I can love and with which I would love to be seen…. Here’s what I’m thinking:

Source: google.fr via Krista on Pinterest

 

…neutral color(s)…

Source: piccsy.com via Krista on Pinterest

 

…a long “stem”…

 

…can fit two people…

Source: google.com.au via Krista on Pinterest

 

…fun color!…

Do you have a purse, a suitcase, and an umbrella that you aren’t ashamed to be seen with?  What do you need?

Leave a Reply

