30 Things: Clothes (yay! something I have!)

Here at sometimessheblogs, Wednesdays are for commenting on this list. So let’s get it started.

Number 3 on the list:

Something perfect to wear if the employer or man of your dreams wants to see you in an hour.

Alright everyone knows I’m a clotheshorse, so this one shouldn’t be too hard right?  And, truthfully, it’s really not.  This is the first question that doesn’t make me question the validity of this list.  As a 30 year old woman, yes you need clothes.  You need clothes ON HAND (not, oh, I’ll just go pick this up at Macy’s) that cover a variety of personal and professional situations.  You should have a closet that is stocked well enough that you don’t feel the need to go shopping for every event in your life, whether it be important interview, romantic date, or appointment at my new dentist’s office.  You should know and have developed your own taste so that you have what you need, and it’s not ALL throwaway items that you’ll only wear once (though those have their place in every closet).

All of that to say, I’m down with list item number 3. 

So part number one: The hardest part is not getting caught up on the question, “wait? Who is the employer of my dreams??”  I am so not ready to answer that question.  But I think the point is, have an awesome outfit suitable for professional/interview situations.  Here’s my take on that, based on what I currently have in my closet.

employer of my dreams

I don’t have these exact items, but it does reflect actual clothing and accessories that I currently own.  I just love my grey pencil skirt and think it’s perfect for pretty much any professional situation.  For the rest of the outfit I went with basic black, just because no one can get mad at you for wearing black, especially items like this that are quite polished.  I read Cathie Black’s book Basic Black, and, unsurprisingly her advice for interview wear is that you can’t go wrong with black.  And I agree.

Is this the perfect outfit for every interview/professional situation?  Probably not, but I don’t see how it’s INappropriate for any of those types of situations.

The next part, dressing for the “man of your dreams” is, surprisingly, a little more difficult.  I’ve already got the man of my dreams, and he’s seen pretty much my entire wardrobe, and he likes 95% of it. That’s too many choices for me. And plus I need more information.  Is the man of my dreams taking me out on the town? to a formal event?  Is he taking me camping (I hope not….I think the man of my dreams knows better.)  Oh well, I’ll assume the man of my dreams just wants to take me to a nice restaurant.  And if so, I’ll have to go with my favorite color, purple, and with a dress and shoes combo that makes me feel both lovely and powerful.
DSCN1106

I think I’m good for this item on the list.

What do you think of my picks?  What would you wear in these situations?

 

 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

