Santa Claus

I really wanted to post this during Christmastime, but I didn’t want to mess with the spirit of the season, and really it’s still funny, so I’ll post it now.  I don’t think any of my readers have small ones reading over the shoulder, but if so, you might want to tell them to stop to protect their innocence.

Are they gone?  Ok, I will continue.

Oh, also, I reread that first paragraph and it sounds like I’m going to post like violent or inappropriate photos, which is not the case, just a little Santa Claus talk.

Anyway, we spent Christmas in Atlanta with my family, and we were discussing how long we believed in Santa Claus, when we knew the jig was up (is that the expression?  I’ve always loved it but have never attempted writing it), and things along those lines.  For most of us it was somewhere between the ages of 5 and 9. 

For my brother it was because he walked in on my mom setting up one of his toys late Christmas Eve under the tree.  He was about 6 or 7 he thinks, and my mom turned around, saw him coming down the stairs and yelled “You get back upstairs!”  But he was smart and played along for a few more years. Although in our family you get the presents regardless of Santa’s existence. 

I was 4 or 5 when I asked about it the first time, but still believed, and then when I was 5 or 6 I asked again.  I’m not really sure why except that I think I was grappling with the difference between fantasy and reality, and if a girl riding a pumpkin coach and then becoming a princess courtesy of talking mice and a fairy godmother wasn’t real then flying reindeer couldn’t be real either.  It was a tough time for me.  Then the existential crisis came: “Mom, if Santa’s not real… what about the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy?”  Yes the big three all came toppling down that day.

Everyone shared their story and their ages, and my grandmother was quiet until she said, “Well, I was 13 or 14 before I figured it out. I’m the dumb one of the family!”  Turns out she found the Santa suit that belonged to her older brother who played the Santa that came into town every Christmas Eve.  My mom assured her that without television or internet it would be a lot easier for kids to believe longer than they do now, like she did.  “But we had radio!” she exclaimed.’

Did Santa visit this Christmas?  Do you still believe?

Leave a Reply

