The Doors

For me, one of the highlights of visiting a new place is seeing the architecture. I don’t know about you, but I find it incredibly interesting, how some places build big tall buildings in small areas and other places spread out their homes and buildings.  How there’s thatched roofs in some countries and tile in others.  How some cities look grey and neutral and silver and others feature every color of the rainbow. 

I was especially astonished during our visit to the “old town” of Cartagena, Colombia.  I’m not sure what I expected, but it wasn’t a stone wall that surrounded a section of town that burst with color and buildings doors that looked like they belonged on a castle or a fortress.  And structures built so close together that the cobblestone streets are mere hallways that barely fit our taxi. 

Our day in Cartagena was quite eventful but for today I just want to share my favorite images of the architecture: doorways, passageways, alleyways, and paths.

DSCN1659DSCN1662DSCN1668DSCN1669DSCN1671DSCN1676

Leave a Reply

