Rewatchability

We don’t have regular television on the ship, but we do have 6 movie channels that show the same movie throughout the day and the same movies throughout the week (ie, the same movies every Monday, then the same movies every Tuesday, etc.).

I can tell, you’re jealous of our on screen entertainment.

But it works for me, and let me tell you why. I like repetition.  I like wearing my favorite outfits over and over.  I like ordering the same thing at my favorite restaurants.  I like doing my favorite things over and over. And, for the most part, I like to watch movies over and over.  Not just any movie, and not even my favorite movies, but there are certain movies; if it’s on I’ll watch it.  Doesn’t matter how many times I’ve seen it in my life, or even that day, I’ll watch it again.  Especially certain scenes…

And so, since it’s my blog, I want to talk about those movie scenes that just never get old.  Give me a shout out if you agree…

You’ve Got Mail
Seriously you guys, how often is this movie on and please tell me how you pass it up?  It’s hard to pick just one scene since Tom Hanks is so rakishly charming and Meg Ryan is disgustingly adorable, but I suppose I love the scene where he explains how she should “go to the mattresses.”  This movie is also now awesome because it’s nostalgic… who uses AOL any more?

Morning Glory
Have you seen this movie?  It’s not the best, but it has extreme rewatchability.  Rachel McAdams and Patrick Wilson are irresistible, and Diane Keaton and Harrison Ford are annoying yet awesome.The highlight for me?  Seeing Harrison Ford’s “love letter,” if you will, to Rachel McAdams when he makes a frittata on air and calls it “FLUFFY!”  Awesome.

Inception
This movie is rewatchable because, let’s be honest, you’re still trying to figure it out aren’t you?  No?  Just me?  Ok.  Anyway, how awesome is Joseph Gordon Levitt in the zero gravity scene? 

 Easy A
Really I just love this movie because I want to be best friends with Emma Stone.  I saw it for the first time last week, but I’ve already watched it 2 or 3 times.  There’s a lot that’s fun to watch in it, but really, my main reason for loving any movie is Stanley Tucci.  He plays Emma Stone’s dad, and she has an African-America adopted brother.  At one point he mentions that he’s adopted and Tucci bangs the counter and yells “WHAT??? WHO TOLD YOU?”  It’s ridiculous and awesome.  A few minutes later he looks at the little boy and insists “So where are you from originally?”

Sex and the City
Ok, don’t hate, but I really will watch this one again and again.  My favorite part?  Samantha feeding oatmeal to a depressed Carrie in Mexico.  Those are 2 of the most unlikable and yet beloved characters in pop culture, and that scene is why you love them, because that is true friendship: holding onto your friend’s hand and giving them exactly what they need even when they don’t think they want it

The Devil Wears Prada
Can we talk about how impeccable Meryl Streep’s performance is in this movie? And how I can’t stop looking at the clothes?  But also,  let’s all recognize the genius that is the scene where Miranda SCHOOLS Andy on how fashion applies to all of us, even those of us who don’t want to care. Brill.  Iant.  Also I like Stanley Tucci in this one as well.

Julie & Julia
Apparently if Stanley Tucci is in a movie I will love it, and if he is accompanied by Meryl Streep…all the better.  I really could watch this movie on a loop for the rest of my life.  I have no idea why, it’s just irresistible to me.  A favorite part in this one?  The lobster scene, her explanation of butter, and also any scene with both Meryl Streep and Stanley Tucci.  Really.  Any of them.

Sister Act II
You are lying if you say you don’t like the choir’s final performance of “Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee.”  And you know you secretly want to watch it once per day, just to get pumped.  Bonus points for those of us who know the rap section (I am still working on it.)

The Social Network
This one’s on the ship about once a week and I enjoy it every time.  The viral spread of facebook is one favorite moment, but also this incredible line from one of the Winklevoss twins: “I’m 6’5”, 220 pounds, and there’s 2 of me.”

Sister Act I
No one can pass this movie up, can they?  For me, the first good performance by the choir is easily one of my favorite movie moments of all time.  And it makes me cry every. single. time.  Not kidding. 

What are some movies/movie scenes you could watch over and over?

8 thoughts on “Rewatchability

  1. I *heart* most of those movies………. You’ve Got Mail (*hangs head in shame* I still use AOL), Sister Act II (imagine a bus full of hs seniors singing along to that final scene…. that was my reality once and it was AWEsome), The Devil Wears Prada, and Morning Glory are all at the top of my list.

    More of my “love to watch” faves……….. The Notebook, Fried Green Tomatoes, Steel Magnolias, Life As We Know It (quickly rising in the ranks), Center Stage, and more that I can’t think of at the moment, lol. Like you said, sometimes, it’s just a couple of scenes that get me every time.

  2. Some of my “if it’s on I’ll watch it” movies and/or TV shows:
    Legally Blonde
    Miss Congeniality
    Sleepless in Seattle
    Friends
    Bones
    Castle
    The Closer
    … and at Christmas time, I can watch White Christmas every day and never tire of it!

    • Well, Easy A I just love, it’s so much better than Saved!, and their parody of Huck Finn, was, well done, considering my High School experience with HF. Nothing really to be ashamed of with Easy A. It’s just hilarious.

      Devil Wears Prada on the other hand, I just have a weird fascination with the story, with interning since I was a TA, and I must admit, I like most Emily Blunt movies, even that Sunshine Cleaning.

  3. Haha yes Talladega Nights! But most Will Ferrell movies…. The Other Guys, Anchorman, Zoolander and Elf. I can quote them all

  4. I stumbled upon your blog while back-reading http://kendieveryday.blogspot.com/ and now I’ve spent the last half hour back-reading yours. Hah! I love this rewatchable movies list, and can was delighted to know (and also love) each favorite scene! (Except I haven’t seen Morning Glory. Will make sure to catch it soon, sooner, soonest.)

    p.s. I also love your Thanksgiving mindset about being thankful for first world problems. I am from Manila, Philippines (very third world) but can definitely relate to the first world problems that we are “blessed” with. Here’s to always being grateful and never taking things for granted. Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

