Husbands are good for packing

At this point, as we live and work on a ship, The Guns and I keep a lot less stuff with us than we would on land.  We filled 1 large suitcase, a medium suitcase, a garment bag, 2 back packs, a carry on suitcase, and a laptop bag.

We also have a mule in our back pocket that we bring out to cart all that around.

I kid.

But prepping for this time of being onboard, I realized how lucky I was.

Husbands increase your packing size.

We pay for our checked bags so we’ve decided to limit ourselves to three (for both of us) for every contract.  Then we we’re usually paying no more than $90 depending on the airline.  The Guns has his suitcase, I have mine, and we share (pretty evenly I must say, the garment bag).

But then we are each allowed a carry-on and a personal item.

That’s when I become very grateful for The Guns. 

You see, as much as I hate carrying around all that stuff, I insist that we use all of our carry-on allotments. We’re gone for months at a time, we need stuff, and some stuff can’t go in the checked bags because it’s too heavy.

Now If I was single, I’d have my one suitcase and 2 carryons: one  filled with my laptop, electronics, and the other filled with heavy things like my shoes and my hairdryer. 

But since I have The Guns, BAM!  Magically I have 4 carry-on items.

It goes something like this:

“hey babe” batting eyelashes “would you mind if I out these books in your backpack?”

“sure”

“hey babe, would you mind if I filled this carry-on with my stuff?  You don’t need it, right?”

“yeah that’s fine.”

“Hey babe, do you need me to put anything in my laptop bag or in my backpack?”

“nope, I’m good.”

“good, because I’ve filled both of them up.”

So in case you haven’t been keeping track it the score looks something like this:

The Guns bags: 1 suitcase, 1/2 a garment bag, 1/2 a backpack

kj bags: 1 large suitcase, 1 carry-on suitcase, 1/2 a garment bag, 1 backpack, 1/2 The Guns’ backpack, 1 laptop bag

Seems pretty fair to me.

The other day The Guns was trying to pick out a shirt to wear into Waikiki.

“well, I could wear this one, or this one.”

“Where are your other polo shirts?”

pointed look from The Guns.  “Well, this is all I brought.”

Read: “this is all I had room to bring.”

“oh” I look away sheepishly. “well, the blue button up then.”

oof.  Wife fail…

One thought on “Husbands are good for packing

Leave a Reply

