on my back, 4th of July

This post is a little late, but this is what I wore for the 4th of July.  We didn’t do anything too special.  I actually had to work, but we went to church in the morning, and I couldn’t resist pulling my most patriotic dress.
This dress is from Gap, and I believe that it will be timeless on its own.  Beyond the color- doesn’t it just feel like America for some reason? I like to add a belt to give it a little more structure (I read something recently that said that straight bodies should wear structured garments while curvy bodies should wear items that flow over them- well, I have a pretty straight torso with a decently curvy bottom, which is why I think style rules rarely work for me when I apply them too strictly.  I kind of have to float in between extreme structure and flow in my outfits. Anyway, that’s why I think this outfit works.  The top of the dress is given some structure by the belt, while the bottom can flow over my hips… I think it works?), plus the belt makes it red, off-white, and blue.  I picked up the off-white polka dots in my dress with the necklace and my shoes.  Plus, this top is pretty low-cut (read, not so much church appropriate) so the necklace does a great job of disguising that.

Did you dress up for the 4th of July?

One thought on “on my back, 4th of July

  1. Okay, so where did you get that necklace from? I recently went to a site that sells similar ones, but they were super expensive. I love it!

Leave a Reply

