The end of the vague

Remember when I vaguely posted about some big upcoming change in my life?  In our life?

Sorry about being so vague.  I hate vagueblogging, vaguebooking, and vaguetweeting.  And now I don’t have to be vague.

Here’s the change.

The Guns and I have recently been offered positions as cruise staff onboard a cruise line.

The Guns will be acting as a youth worker/counselor for the onboard youth programs, and I will be the ship librarian.

please read the last part of that sentence again…

The particular cruise line that we will be working for has an onboard internet cafe/library that is set up kind of like a  bookstore and coffee shop.  I’ll be in charge of that area, making sure guests are happy and can check out books, DVDs, and board games and leading all bookworm related events.

We begin working in mid-August.  So for the next 2 and half months we will be packing up our life here in Fort Worth and tying up loose ends and preparing for life at sea.  We’ll be onboard for a few months, and then we’ll have a month or so off before we can take another contract.

There are obviously a million things to blog about related to this big change… a packing list, the things we’ll miss terribly and are sad to leave, the things we are looking forward to, and I’m also planning a living on land and Fort Worth “bucket list” that I’ll share here.  I hope you’ll enjoy reading about our transition.

But other than some plans I have for the blog before we leave, I’m not really sure about the effect this will have on my blog and my foray into the blogging community.  I spend a lot of time reading lots of blogs that I love, which takes up a lot of time.  Once onboard The Guns and I will be working 10 hours a day seven days a week, and I have a feeling that internet access will be a lot slower and a lot more expensive.  I may be able to keep up with reading most of my favorite blogs, but my own posting might slow down a great deal.  It would be great to write a ton and store it up to be posted while we’re gone regardless of our internet access… however that usually works better for weeks of absence, not months… So we’ll see.

My other struggle with the blog is that I really WANT to share our experiences living at sea (I would so much rather blog and send people there than write monthly mass e-mails), but I’ve always been hesitant about posting things specific to my employment.  I try to always be respectful in my writing about anything, however, I’ve seen many people get in trouble for mixing their work life with their online life, and since I’ve forgone online anonymity, it does make me nervous.  I do think I’ll end up blogging about our at sea experiences, just know that I will probably walk a fine line in my writing.

Anyway, now you know…  please let me know if you have any questions about our decision, or suggestions on what you’d like to see on the blog related to this change — or suggestions on HOW to make this change in the blog world?? how to keep reading when I might not have as much internet access as I’m used to?

Oh, and by the way, The Guns and I are SO excited to begin this new adventure together!

9 thoughts on “The end of the vague

  1. How exciting!!!!

    I really hope you are able to share, because I would love to read about your experiences!

    Congratulations on your new adventure!!

  2. Oh my goodness, wow! What a great adventure you both will have! I'm really excited for you both. Yay for boats and cruise life. Also, however this affects your blog, I will keep reading 🙂

  3. Wow! How exciting… you will both have the times of your lives! I hope you're able to blog about it all just a little bit…. I would love to hear how it is behind the scenes on a cruise ship…

  4. I just stumbled upon your blog (and I honestly couldn't tell you from where), but I'm so interested in your life on a cruise ship so I've become your newest follower!

  5. OK. Somehow in having way too many blogs in my reader and getting used to scanning them, I TOTALLY MISSED THIS ENTRY! I read your post yesterday and wondered how in the world I had missed that y'all had taken this job! Holy cow – this sounds like a blast! Best of luck, and of course I'll be following, and now paying closer attention! (Scott wants to know what cruise line…)

Leave a Reply

