Talking with The Guns- Know your musicals!

 

Let me tell you a story.  As a child my parents introduced me to theater, especially musicals.  About once or twice a year we would head into Atlanta to see the different touring shows.  Growing up around dancers and dance enthusiasts, we always talked about musicals we loved and the great dancing we saw. Before I started dating The Guns I was dating a singer-actor who was a musical theatre major in college.   The ex and I would rarely have a conversation where theater wasn’t mentioned, specifically references to specific musicals.  Anyway, imagine my surprise when I began dating The Guns who did not have this same background…

Me: (mid-conversation)… so you know it’s a lot like A Chorus Line.
The Guns: yeah, definitely. pause.  What’s A Chorus Line?

I almost died.  I thought everyone had at least heard of it.  And I was not used to talking to a boyfriend (or even a friend) who really had no clue about the basics.  Of course, he probably thinks I should know more about sports, but I’m working on it.  But, almost 2 years later, and I’m still helping him learn his musical trivia.

The Guns: What was that musical they kept referencing in the Seinfeld episode?  Joseph and…
Me: Yeah, Joseph and…
The Guns: Joseph and the Amazing Race?
Me: uncontrollable laughter yeah, Joseph and the Amazing Race.
The Guns:  Yeah!
Me: NO!  Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
The Guns: Techni what?

2 thoughts on “Talking with The Guns- Know your musicals!

  1. Awww, this entry was really funny. I was raised on musicals and plays too, so I have similar conversations with Jeremiah, who doesn't have a clue about most of them. 🙂

    How was your birthday?

Leave a Reply

