Don’t Mess

Texas gets a bad rap sometimes, but it’s a pretty great place to live.  
There’s the tradition of the American west, cowboy hats, cactus, spring/summer weather 3/4 of the year, slightly southern tendencies, really great Mexican food, good music, and cowboy boots (I still need some real ones), and tons of other truly Texas things.  And more than any other state, I think, there’s just this feeling that you KNOW you’re in Texas.
But even more than that… the people, man they are proud.
Let me tell you a story.  When I was a freshman I went with my friend Rebekah to her family’s home in Austin for Easter weekend.  While we were there we hung out with our friends, Rory and Jonathan.  Jonathan and Rebekah are native Texans.  Rory and I were not.  So one night they wanted to show us their state.
So all four of us watched a documentary on Texas history.
We have a 3 day weekend, we’re in the super cool city of Austin and what do we do?  Watch a DVD on  Texas history, clearly.  A video which keeps talking about how amazing Texas is. (Did you know that Texas was once a country?  Trust me, if you live here, you’ll learn.  Doesn’t matter that they’re not a country any more, but whatever…)  Rory and I were not all about it.  We would never have watched a documentary on our home state over our holiday weekend. But our Texan friends were so proud to show this to us.
I once told Jacob (he needs a nickname!) about this, and, being a native Texan, he thought it was the coolest thing.  He wanted to know the DVD title, and where we could get it.  sigh.
As much as the Texas pride can sometimes get old (I can’t help that I wasn’t born here!)  I love living in Fort Worth, aka Cowtown, and I believe it’s one of the most “TEXAS” places you can live.  Cowboys regularly ride around our historical and cultural districts.  We have the world’s largest honky tonk.  And there’s a lot of pride in this town… mostly that we are our own town, not a part of our larger neighbor, Dallas.  Say it with me, Fort Worth is not Dallas.  Don’t confuse it.
One thought on “Don’t Mess

Leave a Reply

