Wedding Wednesday! Ryan and Kim

I have not had the pleasure of meeting Ryan and Kim, but they were invited to our wedding… let me explain.  Kim and J were freshmen at TCU in 2001 when Ryan was a junior in college. All 3 met and became friends through Baptist Student Ministries, and then went to the same church in Fort Worth.  In fact, Ryan once told Kim (when she and J were freshmen) that she was going to date J!  They never did. I think we’re all happy with how things actually turned out.  Ryan worked as a teacher at a Fort Worth private school.  After they were married for a year, they moved away and Ryan gave J his job (his first teaching job).  J and I started dating about 2 years later, and, once we were engaged (or married, don’t know which) Kim started reading my blog.  You can read about her life and family at her blog.  Now that you know the connection… here’s their wedding day recap!
Kim and Ryan married on July 23, 2005 at the Robert Carr Chapel at TCU in Fort Worth, TX with a little over 400 guests present.  Kim describes the day as fun, simply elegant, and thoughtfully romantic.
This couple had quite a unique wedding day: they celebrated at their reception first, immediately followed by their ceremony.  When I first learned this I assumed it was to save money, and while that was a result of their decision, Kim and Ryan intended for this order as they planned their wedding. 
“We had our reception before our ceremony because we wanted our ceremony to be the climax of the day’s celebration. I also had always pictured tossing my bouquet from the steps of a church, running down the steps and driving away with my new husband!”  If that’s not thoughtfully romantic… I’m not sure what is.
For the reception Kim wore a white, tea-length cotton sundress with an empire waist.  Before the ceremony she changed into a Maggie Sottero diamond white, strapless, chiffon wedding dress with a slim A-line skirt and a corset back.
“The gown featured asymmetrical ruching on the bodice accented by Swarovski crystals. An asymmetrical drape of chiffon fluttered down toward the hem of the gown – it had a simple chapel length train. My veil was a simple, cathederal length tulle. I loved that it was longer than the train of my dress. My jewlery was a simple Swaroviski crystal & pearl necklace & drop earrings that I had made to match my dress.”
Kim had 2 maids of honor and 3 bridesmaids who wore a simple black strapless dress with a silver sash.  They also wore an 8 strand mult-colored pearl necklace and matching earrings that Kim gave to them.  Ryan’s best man and 5 groomsmen wore tuxes from Men’s Wearhouse.  Ryan wore a white vest and the groomsmen wore silver.  In their wedding party they also had a flower girl, 3 house party attendants, and 3 super awesome ushers (super awesome because J was one of them!).
Kim carried a bouquet of brightly-colored gerbera daisies (her favorite flower) and yellow freesia, accented by bright green mums wrapped and held together by pearl pins.  The women carried white gerbera daisies, white petite roses, and white freesia.  The men wore boutonnieres made of white petite roses and white freesia.
Ryan and Kim’s reception was held at the Fort Worth Botanical Gardens where they ate a brunch buffet. “I enjoyed visiting with friends and family at our casual and fun reception. I think everyone had a good time getting to catch up and eat a bite before the ceremony!”
Before the ceremony Kim and Ryan read letters they wrote to one another. “The couple who did our pre-marital counseling encouraged us to write each other letters that explained what we loved about each other and why we were making a commitment to each other and Christ to walk together in marriage as long as we lived. That way, as time passed and we encountered challenges or doubted our love for each other, we could always pull the letter out and read it as a reminder. It was certinaly a special part of the day!”

At the ceremony, “Amy Nobles, a close friend and very talented musician and worship leader sang “You Alone Are My Rock,” a song she had written several years before our wedding, as the processional. She sang the hymn, “It is Well,” while Ryan and I took Communion. Our recessional song was “Lord I Praise You,” also an original by Amy that is upbeat and joyful.  It was an awesome way to leave our ceremony, praising God for the love He had given us for each other!”
When I asked about budgets and challenges, Kim mentioned that she, like most brides, struggled with the invite list and the expenses that go with a large group of guests.  However, they did manage to keep their budget! “It was challenging having a large guest list and sticking to a reasonable budget. Breakfast/lunch items are more cost effective than dinner, and with 500 invitations going out, we had no intention of feeding everyone a sit down dinner 🙂 We chose to keep a large guest list because at that time in our life we had a lot of different circles of important people to us that had been part of our relationship “story.” I had just graduated from TCU and had many close friends still in town from college; I had also started a new job and developed friendships; we had our Fort Worth church family; Ryan was 2 years ahead of me at TCU, so he had some different college friends to invite, plus his co-workers and students from the school where he taught! Ryan’s mom is also 1 of 7 children, and my Mom is 1 of 4, so our families alone were a large part of our guest list!”
Planning was also challenging because of the timing of their engagement in relation to Kim’s schooling. “Ryan proposed to me the weekend before finals during the fall semester of my senior year at TCU. During my final semester (spring 2005) at TCU I was taking 18 hours of classes on Tuesdays/Thursdays and then working an advertising internship in Dallas on M-W-F. This schedule did not lend itself to a whole lot of free time! Luckily Ryan was extremely helpful and filled in as mother-of-the bride any time he could (I am from Kansas, so my mom’s ability to plan for a Fort Worth wedding was limited).”
There’s little Kim would change about her wedding… “Maybe I would have gotten married earlier in the summer so it wasn’t so hot :-)”
For other brides, Kim’s advice is this: ”Enjoy your engagement! What a special time! Use that time to prepare to be a wife, not a bride. You are a bride for 1 day, and a wife for a lifetime!”

If you’re interested in being featured on a Wedding Wednesday, e-mail me!
Leave a Reply

