Random Saturday

I don’t normally post on Saturdays, but there was a bunch of random stuff to share that wasn’t big enough for one post, hence, a Random Saturday.

First a “housekeeping” note… You may have noticed that I changed my blog template.  It’s wider.  I like this better because I can post bigger pictures, and the paragraphs look shorter, more readable, whereas before (because I’m long-winded) you had to scroll like a million times to get to the end of a post.  I like how things look now, but this means that all my specially formatted (read: photo heavy) posts pre- new template are based on the old template and look all wonky now.  Please don’t judge the archives.  I’m anal enough to go back and correct (all the way to April 09), but I have a hard time justifying the time that would take… perhaps someday.

Now onto the randomness.

A couple of weeks ago we went to Buttons, here in the Fort for chicken and waffles.

This is what it looked like.
This inspired J last Sunday to make his own version.  Chicken and Peanut Butter Pork.

Not exactly the same.  yes, that’s an eggo waffle.  He liked it.
You might be wondering, now why didn’t you tell us about this peanut butter pork dish?
It wasn’t that good.  It wasn’t that bad.  It’s basically pork tenderloin with onions, soy sauce, and peanut butter… and some other stuff, but you get the gist of it.  If you use your crockpot, you know that soy sauce is the secret ingredient.  Somehow, it has so much flavor that it makes up for what you miss by cooking things slow rather than fast.  I, of course, got this recipe from crockpot365, highly recommended as kind of an Asian inspired dish… but it didn’t live up to my expectations.  Oh well, we didn’t starve, and that’s the point of eating.
This week I was making apricot chicken, also highly recommended by crockpot365.  Also used soy sauce.  So I grabbed it.  Oh wait, that’s worcestire sauce.
Commence, aha!  I’m so stupid moment.  my worcestire and soy sauce bottles have different labels, and they’re different sizes.  But they are the same shape and reside on the same shelf.  I’m pretty sure that’s where the peanut butter pork went wrong.  
In the crockpot, worcestire is very different from soy.
And also, when you’re typing in a URL, “crockpot” will bring up something very different than “cockpot”. Just so you know.
My third random thing:  Are you participating in FB’s doppleganger week?  Don’t know what that is?  Basically, you post a photo of the celebrity people tell you that you look like as your profile picture.  I struggled with that.  In high school I got a lot of Katie Holmes, the occasional Christina Ricci. J thinks I look like Zooey Deschanel on her brunette days.  Basically people are just looking for pale skin, dark hair and big eyes.  But I finally realized who truly is my doppleganger
That’s Violet from the Incredibles.
Seriously, I get that comparison (to a CARTOON CHARACTER) on a regular basis.  I guess I really do have huge eyes.
and maybe it’s because of my huge eyes that I got this award from the Style Artisan
It’s the “You’re a doll” award!  Really, Style Artisan is the doll.  She found my blog recently and has been super encouraging ever since. A really great person for the blogosphere (cue “we’re all in this together” from high school musical.  You know it’s fitting).  She claims to be the “oldest fashion blogger out there” but whatever her age, she should be proud… she’s always looking good and her style is unique  and definitely not “old.” Plus I like that she still shops at Forever 21 to supplement her mostly thrifted and always affordable outfits.  
I’m going to take a cue from JoAnn at Sidewalk Chalk, and instead of choosing someone to give this award to (because I can’t choose!  I can’t!  I didn’t choose a maid of honor, thus I will not choose between all the dolls I follow.) I’m going to ask that you leave a comment with a random fact about yourself (appropriate, since it’s random Saturday).  I have a few new readers that have started dropping by in the past month, so thank you to you, and all my readers!  I want to learn more about all of you!
And my last random thing is this: You know how much I love reality tv, so the other day I was watching The Millionaire Matchmaker when J joined me on the couch.  Which resulted in my tweet of the week:
kjlangford: J: what is this? Me: Millionaire Matchmaker. Do you hate this? J: Not yet…

Love him.
Leave a Reply

