Fashion Friday- Blah, Blah, Blah…

Ok, so I’m new at this whole style thing… and I feel like I’ve done a pretty good job. So far.

Yeah, not this week.  The past two weeks I’ve fallen in love with one or two of my looks, and I fell harder when I made combinations that I did not expect, combinations I had never done before… This week, while I did a couple new things, I ended up making a couple of outfits that are basically staples in my wardrobe, and have been for a few years.  I also find that in spite of the fact that I have few patterns in my wardrobe, I generally love my outfits that have at least one pattern… unfortunately in the past two weeks I’ve used most of my patterned items… and I need to do laundry if I’m going to remix any of those…

All of this is compounded by the fact that I did a lot of working at home and dance teaching this week, and I’m not ready to show you my athletic/lounging wardrobe yet.  I’m not like those style bloggers that use their creativity just to stay indoors on their computer (I don’t know if those exist, but I’m generally not one of them, if I’m just inside blogging or working on other projects from home then I’m in Old Navy yoga (or I guess they call them Goga?) pants. And all of that is compounded by the fact that even though I like most of these outfits, none of them photographed all that great, especially since it was cooler this week and we weren’t able to do many of the photos in full natural light… which is compounded by the fact that I wore lots of dark colors… which are awful in indoor light.

Thus the slim outfit roundup… Perhaps this is just a lull?

I wore this for our night out on Friday night… I’ve been wanting to try the skinny jeans with heels, and I love these heels.  They’re red with green leaves on them, and a gold heel. I think that worked pretty well, and I’e always loved this tunic (this is the type of plunging neckline that you can get away with when you wear a 34A)… But I wanted more than an all blue outfit plus some red shoes.  So I added this olive cropped jacket.  I like the color combinations, but I don’t know how I feel about the different types of fit.

Jeans: Forever 21
Tunic: Target
Jacket: Forever 21
Shoes: Charlotte Russe
Necklace: gifted, from Js mom
Earrings: Old Navy

Saturday shopping and hanging out with friends. This is a newer outfit, but I almost feel like its too matchy on top… maybe not.  love the print on this top.  Not sure how I feel about the belted cardigan, but it’s definitely a new look for me.  I guess I almost feel like its conflicted… the boots and the tank feel very prairie lovin’ while the skinnies, the cardigan and the belt feel… well, not.  But maybe the contrast is good?  I don’t know.

But I really love this print.
Tank: Forever 21
Cardigan: Loft
Belt: Old Navy
Jeans: Forever 21
Boots: Target
Necklace: gift, from J’s mom
After a bad outfit two days in a row, I decided to dress up a bit.  I had a whole outfit planned and I put it on and it was horrendous.  So I grabbed my still kind of new green slouchy top and tried it with these dressy gouchos (gouchos are still in when done right.  Because I said so) which I didn’t think would work, because I thought there was too much volume on both top and bottom… But I think it worked!  I added the earrings and the scarf to add texture and more color.
Blouse: Old Navy
Gouchos: Papaya
Scarf: Target
Earrings: Old Navy
Boots: Michael Shannon
After I taught ballet, I really needed to put on something to make me feel good, even if I was just going for pizza night at a friend’s place.  I think the belt really works here.  (I promise I’ll go buy a belt soon, that’s not teal, but right now it’s this belt or a red one… and I’m not one for much red).
Shirt (Barely seen): Maurices
Sweater dress: gift, from Mom
leggings: Forever 21
Boots: Blowfish via DSW
Bracelet: ???
Earrings: street vendor in Playa del Carmen, honeymoon find
My last outfit was just something that I decided to put in an outfit when I was looking for an outfit to wear… I hung the shirt with the blazer so that I would remember the combination.  I’ve decided that teal goes with anything (hello, just look at all my photos.. teal is everywhere) so I added it here in the flats and the jewelry to add a little boldness to a rather muted outfit.  I’ve had this Sprite tee since my freshman year of college… I love it for some reason.
Shirt: Target
Khakis: Gap
Blazer: ? department store find, I think
Flats: rocketdog via DSW
Earrings: Macy’s, gift from J
Bracelet: gift
Ok, so maybe I was being a little dramatic… but still, looking for some new fashion inspiration for next week!
8 thoughts on “Fashion Friday- Blah, Blah, Blah…

  1. There's so much to like here…even though you think it's been a blah week, I think you did a great job mixing it up with your accessories. Love the orange/green shoes and blue shoes, love your scarf, love your silver bracelet! And your white chunky sweater is gorgeous.

    – JoAnn, Sidewalk Chalk

  2. um, that orange scarf from Target…LOVE! Dont hate me is I go out and buy it TONIGHT! Who would have ever thought Krista would be posting a fashion blog…you look great!

  3. I really like these, Krista!! The first three are my faves. I thought you were crazy with the “blah” after I saw the first one — the proportions look really good on you, I think! And I love the way the flowy top with gauchos turned out… you still looked slim and the colors are really flattering on your skin and hair tones.

    Fashion Fridays are so fun, keep them coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

