Fashion Friday- still loving my boots

It’s Fashion Friday!

Celebrating the style highlights of my week.
 

I started my style/fashion blog research the same day I went on a shopping trip to Forever 21.  My research made me decide to get some pieces I wouldn’t normally buy (ie, stay away from teal tank tops, just sayin) and my big goal was to buy a print.  I hit the jackpot with this dress… it looks like a skirt to you, but  that’s just because I layered a tank over it.  Clearly my printed buy was the skirt of the dress, but to be frank, normally I would never buy this dress- the top is a black tank with a high waist (the skirt starts at my ribs…) and look at that print (get a closer look- it’s the background of this photo collage)- Punky Brewster would buy this.  But I decided to try it, because my friend insisted it was cute.  And yes, with black leggings and my boots, and tank that covers the top layer of the skirt and the awkward high waist, it is.  I added a loose black cardigan because, hello, it’s January, and these earrings because I learned about mixing colors and I wanted to throw in some blues and greens to complement the pinks and purples.
Dress: Forever 21
Tank: Express
Cardigan: Express
Earrings: Charlotte Russe
Boots- Blowfish, via DSW, via my aunt (thank you!)
Leggings: Forever 21

I had an interview this week, and I’ve never done an interview in the winter so my choices were lacking. I have a decent amount of professional wear, but I nixed a lot of it since I’d never been to this particular office, so I wasn’t sure how risky I could be fashionably, hence the kind of boring look on the left.  But black and white is safe, and adding a leopard print flat made me happy, but still confident that I was conservative enough.  The photo on the right is how I looked as I walked out in the cold.
Pants: Editor pant, Express
Shirt: ehhh… oh dear… no memory
Cardigan: Express
Flats: Rocketdog via DSW via their clearance rack, holla!
Sunglasses: Target
Scarf: Coldwater Creek via my grandmother (thank you!)
Laptop bag: Target- it’s a beauty, ain’t it?
Black Coat: Nine West
This was a hang out with friends outfit.  I’ve had this sweater for awhile, but I finally got the grey leggings to explore its possibilities as a sweater dress.  I like that when I add the leather jacket it breaks up the print, making it look less like pajamas and more like a cute mini.  I added the bracelet with the purple stones with the black jewelry in an attempt to mix in some color.  Oh and of course- hi boots!                                                        
Sweater: Express
Gray Leggings: Forever 21
Jewelry: gifts
Leather jacket: Rampage
boots: Blowfish via DSW
Another outfit to hangout in.  Got this Cardicoat a few months ago at Old Navy for $20!  I love the collar and the bell sleeves.  I also love my new ($9.50) skinny jeans.  I also love my boots.
Cardicoat!: Old Navy
Navy Tank: Target
Skinny Jeans: Forever 21
Boots: Blowfish via DSW
Now comes my favorite outfit of the week.  I had a girls night last Friday, and I decided to go all out.  I bought this strapless leopard print dress for my honeymoon, and I wish I could wear it every other day.  Well, every other day- my wedding dress on the other days.  Just sayin.  Anyway, what says girls night more than a leopard print dress?  Only ice cream and chocolate, but they don’t look good on me.  I styled this one up so much I had to do two collages.
Once again, it’s January so I had to keep warm since we were downtown and like 25 degrees outside, which is why I added the leggings and the faux fur cropped jacket.  I’m not gonna lie, the jacket fur looks very faux, so I realized I needed to add something to it to make it a little more interesting, and a little less synthetic: enter rhinestone oval brooch, borrowed from a friend.  I also added a black tank that really doesn’t fit, but works perfectly under other items.  It kept me warm, and added some depth since the tan color in the print can get washed out on my skin.  The black and silver jewelry and little purse (do I get points for mixing fabrics since the purse is lace?) finished it off.  And, hi boots.  I still love you.  Also, check out the pockets on this dress!!!!

Dress: Windsor
Black Tank: I can’t think back that far
Leggings: Forever 21
Boots: Blowfish via DSW
Bracelet: gift, from J’s aunt
Necklace: gift
Earrings: gift from J
Purse: gift
Faux Fur jacket: Target
Brooch: borrowed 
Black tank: er, can’t remember back that far
So there it is, my first Fashion Friday.  These were just the highlights, there were plenty of sweatpants and athletic tanks that did not get shown, yep I’m discriminating against my athletic wardrobe.  So what do you think of the new stylings?  Good, bad, ugly?  Let me know.
5 thoughts on “Fashion Friday- still loving my boots

  1. Aww yay, loved your post!
    Some thoughts:
    1) Love the editor pants from express…I'm a huge of fan of them!
    2) Your boots are amazing.
    3) Prints are fun! Sometimes it's great to step out of your comfort zone and try things you would have never done a year ago. Love the F21 dress.

    Bravo on your first Fashion Friday post!
    – JoAnn, Sidewalk Chalk

  2. Ooooo!!! I'm gonna pull a SATC and “me likey” this.

    Lots to say, lots to say…

    1. I am loving the boots, too! And I love that you dressed them up and then down.
    2. Prints are love.
    3. First outfit = my comfort zone for work.
    4. Cardicoats are the bomb.com. I'm not quite lean enough to pull it off outside the house for most occasions but I LOVE it on you!
    5. The last outfit is YOWZAA!! I am so not brave enough to attempt that but I love it! The way the dress comes together at the waist is neat-o.

    Awesome Fashion Friday!

  3. Great outfits…I enjoyed your post and your blog!

    I live in Atlanta, but grew up in Dallas, so we have some home bases in common. OK…I'm a little older than you but still love all things fashion, especially blogging. I hope you will check out my blog!

Leave a Reply

