Miracles

“For two people in a marriage to live together day after day is unquestionably the one miracle the Vatican has overlooked.” –Bill Cosby

When people ask for ways that we can see God in our world today everyone always throws out answers about nature. The beauty of a sunset. The magnitude of the Grand Canyon. And other fantastical things.

This always makes me feel uncomfortable. I’m not a nature lover, which is similar to saying that you don’t enjoy puppies (and I do enjoy puppies).

I see God and His work in relationships. I’ve learned more about God from dating J and preparing for marriage with him than I have at any other point in my life. To see the process of two people meeting and deciding, close to simultaneously “yeah, I like you” and then “I love you,” and then, “not only do I love you, but I want to spend the rest of my life with you,” and then “even though I’m really mad at you right now, and I don’t know how we’re going to get through this I still love you and want to spend my life with you.” To me, that is evidence of God’s existence, because we cannot orchestrate something like that ourselves (though we may try over and over again… of course, when we do, it rarely works out).

Think of how many times you’ve had a crush on someone… it’s so easy! But how difficult is it to really love someone for who they are, baggage and all, and for them to love you, at the same time, in the same way? I don’t think we make that happen on our own.

Photo Credit: Allison Kitchens

Leave a Reply

